3 comments on “Limerick #74

  1. This one reminded me of my own poor gardening efforts last week David.
    Wonderfully complex, and true to style, a mini-masterwork of the Limerick world!
    Best wishes from England as always, Pete.

    Like

    • I’m embarrassed to say how much time it took me to write this one! Your wonderful compliment is my reward for the effort. I was plucking weeds out of the landscape gravel yesterday morning (obviously, I do not have a gardener!), and this backbreaking task inspired me to write this limerick, though your blog entry was also fresh in my mind. As for the analogy (weeds are to yards as gristle is to steak) in the limerick that serves as a lesson to the gardener, that was suggested by the short list of weeds with which I chose to work: gristle is one of the few words that rhymes with thistle, my weed of first choice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

